Headstand · Inversion · Yoga · Yogini

Off the Wall

“Yoga is a light, which once lit, will never dim. The better your practice, the brighter the flame.” by B.K.S. Iyengar

VID_114351130_111617.mp4_000007504

Looking at people going upside down always intrigued me. I am still in aw of all the beautiful people who do Inversions. It changes the way you see the world. Try this sometime and you will know for yourself :).

My first impression of headstand was, it increases the blood flow to the scalp, resulting in healthy hair. I have stayed at different places and the change of air and water has taken a toll on my hair. I started doing this pose every morning, obviously with the support of wall. Those were the times I did not think of getting off the wall ever. My purpose was getting solved and the feeling was great.

Then there was a time when I started watching other Yogis doing the inversions at beautiful locations without any support and that changed my perception completely. It made me realize that going off the wall means being mindful, being aware of your body. On the road of practicing headstand without support(I was terrified as hell in the beginning) I realized how each breath supports your frame, thoughts and takes you on a journey of self belief and makes you feel that nothing is impossible.

VID_20151126_090917_1448509274513_001.mp4_000008997

Handstands are still eluding me from going off the wall. I have the faith that one day it will happen.

Don’t be afraid to walk this path, leave it on your practice and breath:)

Namaste & Love

Sandhya

Leave a Reply

