Handstand · Inversion · Peace · Yoga

The Quest for balance

“The key to keeping your balance is knowing when you have lost it”

Hello Lovely Souls,

Today I read a wonderful piece from Cetin whom I follow on IG, about being a Yoga teacher, he said, its not about doing fancy Yoga poses but ability to practice it 24/7 and shed light on others way. This is a beautiful thought. I do believe that asanas are the medium to open your mind, find the balance in your life and let others see the world in a way they have never seen it before.

img_20160219_085949.jpg

I took around 8 Yoga challenges in the month of February on IG, I know it sounds crazy but I am loving each one of it. It is amazing as each challenge is different from the other. In the quest for finding the balance I took two of the Inversion challenge – FortheLoveofInversion and InversionOftheNerds. Handstands and Pinchas are the two inversions I am finding difficult to balance off the wall. I know the drill but everytime I try I fail. There are days when I am able to hold for a little long, and those are the days I tell my mind – Don’t give up.

20160220_084603.jpg

Would like to share few ways for keeping the balance when trying to enter the handstand in a steady manner. While doing a headstand we give a triangular support to the body. Head becomes the center and palms or elbows the other two supporting points. The same we can apply for Handstands. I support my head with books at shoulder height, using my hands at both sides, I try to lift myself steadily with staggered legs. This way I am able to do a handstand in a balanced way without loosing its integrity;) The other is supporting your head against the wall and elbows at the sides, this way I am able to hold the handstand for as long as I want and can create any shape with my legs – diamond or samakonasana or eagle.

11910549_522139951287116_1258741638_n

This is going to be my mantra for gaining enough core strength and balance to get off the wall.

12362303_819032261540540_1920945208_n

Please share your building blocks towards finding the balance in inversions.

Namaste,

Love

Sandhya

3 thoughts on “The Quest for balance

Leave a Reply

